Suggested Links

The following websites can provide you with additional information and resources related to the early years field. Although not an exhaustive list, these sites cover areas such as child development, early literacy, family and community supports, and more.

Child Care

About Kids Health – www.aboutkidshealth.ca
Baby Zone – www.babyzone.com
Canadian Child Care Federation – www.cccf-fcsge.ca
Canadian Toy Testing Council – www.toy-testing.org
Caring For Kids – www.caringforkids.cps.ca
Centre of Excellence for Child Welfare – www.cecw-cepb.ca
Child Care and Early Education Research Connections – www.childcareresearch.org
Child Care Advocacy Association of Canada – www.ccaac.ca
Child Care Aware –www.childcareaware.org
Childcare Information Resource Collection – www.childcarecanada.org
Child Welfare League of Canada – www.cwlc.ca
Early Learning and Child Care Quality By Design – www.childcarequality.ca
Kid Source Online – www.kidsource.com
Ontario Coalition for Better Child Care – http://childcareontario.org
Ontario Ministry of Children and Youth Services - www.children.gov.on.ca
Peel Children's Aid Society – www.peelcas.org
Peel Early Years – www.peelearlyyears.com
Safe Kids – www.safekids.org
Talaris Institute - www.talaris.org

Child Development

American Academy of Pediatrics – www.aap.org
Baby Center – www.babycenter.com
Baby Sign Language - www.babysignlanguage.com
Baby Talk – www.babytalk.org
Best Chance - www.bestchance.gov.bc.ca
Best Start – www.beststart.org
Better Beginnings Better Futures – http://bbbf.queensu.ca
Canadian Council for Exceptional Children – www.cec.sped.org
Canadian Paediatric Society – www.cps.ca
Canadian Society for Exercise Physiology – Canadian Physical Activity Guidelines
Centre of Excellence for Early Childhood Development – www.excellence-earlychildhood.ca
Child Development Resource Connection Peel – www.cdrcp.com
Council for Exceptional Children – www.cec.sped.org
National Institute of Child Health and Human Development – www.nichd.nih.gov
Offord Centre for Child Studies – School Readiness to Learn Project – www.offordcentre.com/readiness
On Track: Supporting Healthy Child Development and Early Identification in the Early Years - A Reference Guide for Professionals in Ontario - www.beststart.org/OnTrack_English/1-introduction.html
Peel Infant Development – www.peelinfant.ca
The Australian Parenting Website - www.raisingchildren.net.au
The Incredible Years – www.incredibleyears.com
Voices for Children – www.voicesforchildren.com
Zero to Three – www.zerotothree.org

Early Years Research

Child Trends – www.childtrends.org
Childwatch International Research Network – www.childwatch.uio.no
Culturally and Linguistically Appropriate Services – Early Childhood Research Institute -http://clas.uiuc.edu
Education Resources Information Center (ERIC database) – www.eric.ed.gov
Founders' Network – www.founders.net
Harvard University - Center on the Developing Child – www.developingchild.harvard.edu
Human Early Learning Partnership – www.earlylearning.ubc.ca
Institute of Child Study – www.oise.utoronto.ca/ICS/
International Play Association – www.ipaworld.org
National Institute for Early Education Research – http://nieer.org
Offord Centre for Child Studies – www.offordcentre.com
What works? Research into Practice (Ontario Ministry of Education) -www.edu.gov.on.ca/eng/literacynumeracy/inspire/research/whatWorks.html

Educational Associations

Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development – www.ascd.org and www.ascd.ca
Association of Early Childhood Educators Ontario – www.aeceo.ca
Coalition for Community Schools – www.communityschools.org
Early Childhood Resource Teacher Network of Ontario – www.ecrtno.ca/index.php
Education World – www.education-world.com
eWorkshop (Ontario's Education Foundations Program) – www.eworkshop.on.ca
Learning Disabilities Association of Ontario – www.ldao.ca
National Association for the Education of Young Children – www.naeyc.org
Ontario Ministry of Education – www.edu.gov.on.ca

Family Support

Canadian Father Involvement Initiative – www.cfii.ca
Child and Family Canada – www.cfc-efc.ca
Early Childhood and Parenting Collaborative – http://ecap.crc.uiuc.edu
eParenting Network – www.eparentingnetwork.ca
Family Education – www.familyeducation.com
Family TLC – www.familytlc.net
iParenting Canada – www.iparentingcanada.com
Motherisk – www.motherisk.org
National Fatherhood Initiative – www.fatherhood.org
Parent Helpline – www.parenthelpline.ca
Parenting iVillage – http://parenting.ivillage.com
Parenting Press – www.parentingpress.com
Parenting Research Centre - http://www.parentingrc.org.au/
Raising Children Network - the Australian Parenting Website - http://raisingchildren.net.au/
Social Development Canada – www.sdc.gc.ca
The Halton Resource Connection - www.thrc.ca
The Parent's Journal – www.parentsjournal.com
Today's Parent – www.todaysparent.com
Toronto Early Childhood and Family Resource System – www.healthykidstoronto.ca

Health Care

About Kids Health – www.aboutkidshealth.ca
Canadian Mental Health Association – www.ontario.cmha.ca
Canadian Institute of Child Health – www.cich.ca
Child Development Institute – www.childdevelop.ca
Children's Health Policy Centre – http://childhealthpolicy.ca
Children's Mental Health Ontario – www.kidsmentalhealth.ca
Growing Healthy Canadians – www.growinghealthykids.com
Healthy Parents Healthy Children – www.healthyparentshealthychildren.ca
Infant Mental Health Promotion – www.imhpromotion.ca
Kids Health – www.kidshealth.org
LAMP Community Health Centre – www.lampchc.org
Mothercraft – www.mothercraft.ca
Ontario Ministry of Health - www.health.gov.on.ca
Public Health Agency of Canada – Division of Childhood and Adolescence - http://www.phac-aspc.gc.ca/index-eng.php

Literacy

American Library Association – www.ala.org
Capacity Building Series (Ontario Ministry of Education) -www.edu.gov.on.ca/eng/literacynumeracy/inspire/research/capacityBuilding...
International Reading Association – www.reading.org
National Center for Family Literacy – www.famlit.org
National Reading Campaign – www.nationalreadingcampaign.ca
Reading is Fundamental – www.rif.org
Reading Online – www.readingonline.org
Reading Rockets – www.readingrockets.org